• Deutsch
  • English

Micro dispensing

micro valves

What is a micro dispensing valve?

A micro valve for dispensing applications is an electromagnetic 2/2-way valve with a built-in dispensing nozzle (also called jetting valve). It can shoot fast droplets and works similar to an electronically controlled water tap, just a lot smaller.

 

Time-Pressure dispensing

To dispense a liquid droplet with a dispensing valve, a pressurized fluid container is needed. The pressure inside this tank forces the fluid to the valve. An electric signal opens and closes the valve to dispense small volumes of liquid.

In the specific case of a micro dispensing valve, the opening times have to be only a few milliseconds in order to dispense very small droplets.

Mikrodosierung

Short valve switching times

A micro valve is built with a strong magnetic coil and a very small and light moving plunger or membrane. Combined with a short plunger stroke, this leads to very short switching times that make micro dispensing possible. In the example of the B-drop mini, the switching only takes 0.3 milliseconds.

 “small” Volumes

On the upper end, a micro valve dispenses a continuous flow of about 5 to 50 ml/min. But how low can a volume dispensed by a micro valve go? This question depends on many factors. With low viscous media like water and using the right fluid pressure and waveform, a Micro valve an dispense as little as 10 nanoliters in a droplet. However the accuracy of such a small droplet may be poor. If even smaller droplets in the picoliter area are needed, a piezo driven inkjet system ist oftentimes used.

Controlling a micro valve

An electromagnetic micro valve is usually controlled by a valve controller. The valve controller is able to set the valve opening time with a microsecond resolution. Further it supports a reduction of the current to prevent the valve from overheating. This mode is called a Peak-and-hold waveform. In the specific case of the ReseaTech Valve controller it can even switch the electrical polarity to actively close the valve. The controller has a trigger input to synchronize the dispensing with a moving axis of for instance a printer or an automatic dispenser.

wave form

Measuring the droplet size

Droplets dispensed by a micro valve can be measured in various ways. The most common way to achieve reliable dosing volumes is weighing the droplets on a highly accurate balance for calibration. However, this process requires that the fluid pressure and temperature is held constant over the whole dispensing process.

An alternative that is provided by ReseaTech, is the inline measurement of droplets using a very responsive flow sensor (the Puled Flow Sensor). Using this technology, all dispensed droplets can be protocolled during the dispensing operations.

Flow curves sensor

• Deutsch
  • English

Mikrodosierung

micro valves

Was ist ein Mikrodosierventil?

Ein Mikroventil für Dosieranwendungen ist ein 2/2-Wegeventil mit einer integrierten Düse. Es wird in der Fachsprache auch Jetting-Ventil genannt. Es kann Tropfen mit hoher Geschwindigkeit abschiessen und funktioniert ähnlich wie ein elektrisch geschalteter Wasserhahn, nur natürlich viel kleiner.

Zeit-Druck Dosierung

Um Flüssigkeitstropfen mit einem Mikroventil zu dosieren, wird ein Behälter mit Flüssigkeit unter Druck benötigt. Der Druck in diesem Tank fördert das Medium zum Ventil. Ein elektrisches Signal öffnet und schliesst das Ventil, um kleine Flüssigkeitstropfen zu erzeugen. Beim Mikroventil beträgt die Öffnungszeit oft nur wenige Millisekunden. Dadurch können Tropfen im Mikroliterbereich erzeugt werden.

Mikrodosierung

Kurze Ventil Schaltzeiten

Ein Mikroventil wird mit einer starken Magnetspule und einem sehr leichten beweglichen Anker oder Membrane gebaut. Kombiniert mit einem kurzen Ankerhub führt dies zu sehr kurzen Schaltzeiten. Diese machen das Dosieren von Mikrolitertropfen möglich. Als Beispiel beträgt die Schaltzeit des B-drop minis gerade mal 0.3 Millisekunden.

"kleine" Volumina

Maximal können Mikroventile einen kontinuierlichen Durchfluss von 5 bis 50 ml/min dosieren. Aber wie klein sind die minimal möglichen Dosiermengen? Diese Frage hängt von mehreren Parametern ab. Mit niedrig viskosen Flüssigkeiten wie Wasser und mit den richtigen Parametern, kann ein Mikroventil eine Tropfengrösse bis  zu 10 Nanolitern herunter erreichen. Jedoch ist bei diesen Mengen die Genauigkeit nicht mehr so gut. Wenn noch kleinere Tropfen gefordert sind, wird häufig ein Piezo- oder Inkjetventli verwendet.  Ab 100 Nanolitern und aufwärts ist aber das Mikroventil (Jetting Ventil) die kostengünstigste und effizienteste Variante.

Die Ansteuerung eines Mikroventils

Ein elektromagnetisches Dosierventil wird meist mit einer Ventilsteuerung geschaltet. Die Ventilsteuerung kann sehr kurze Öffnungspulse mit Mikrosekunden Auflösung erzeugen. Weiter ermöglicht sie einen Stromreduktionsmodus, wodurch ein Überhitzen des Ventils verhindert wird. Dieser Modus wird auch Peak-and-Hold genannt. Die Ventilsteuerung von ReseaTech hat zusätzlich eine Option, die die elektrische Spannung zum Schliessen des Ventils invertiert und somit das Ventil schneller schliessen lässt. Weiter gibt es einen Trigger Eingang, um die Dosierung mit einer Maschine zu synchronisieren.

wave form

Tropfengrösse messen

Tropfen die mit Jettingventilen dosiert werden, können auf verschiedene Arten gemessen oder verifiziert werden. Der üblichste Weg ist wohl das wägen der Tropfen mit einer Präzisionswaage zur Kalibrierung. Diese Vorgehensweise setzt jedoch einen exakt geregelten Druck und eine konstant bleibende Temperatur des Mediums voraus.

Als Alternative bietet ReseaTech die inline Tropfenmessung mittels Durchflusssensor an (der Pulsed Flow Sensor). Dadurch können alle dosierten Tropfen auch im Abfüllprozess protokolliert werden.

Flow curves sensor