• Deutsch
  • English

Pulsed Flow Sensor

The Pulsed Flow Sensor is a very dynamic volume flow sensor for liquids. It was developed to monitor the flow of pulsating pumps and fast switching valves. This reliable and chemically resistant enables you to measure sharp volume integrals and therewith monitor and control every dosing process.

 

Short response times

the Pulsed Flow Sensor (PFS) is a small volume flow sensor, based on the differential-pressure principle. The advantage of this measurement principle is a very short response time of 1 millisecond. This allows measurements of fast volume flow changes,  generated by electromagnetic valves. Also pulses of peristaltic pumps or membrane pumps can be monitored in high accuracy. Volume integrals can be calculated from as low as 50 nanoliters.

 

Detached controller

The PFS generates analog pressure signals, which are interpreted by the PFS-Controller. The PFS-Controller processes the signals and calculates volume flows and volume integrals with a sampling rate of up to 20 kHz. The communication is provided through a configurable serial com port.  Further a power output with PWM function is provided to drive valves or pumps or as a trigger to synchronize the actuator with the sensor.

 

Viscosity compensation

The PFS optionally uses the effect of viscous friction to measure the fluids viscosity (PFS-V2). With this additional Information a viscosity independent volume flow can be measured.

 

Chemical resistance

The PFS is made from high-tensile and chemically resistant PEEK (polyetheretherketone). The materials in contact with the media are further: fluorosilicone and FPM. With these materials the PFS is inert to a variety of chemicals, oils and solvents.

 

Insusceptible to air bubbles

The PFS is insusceptible to gas/air bubbles, that are trapped in the liquid. The influence of gas bubbles on the measured value is minimal. Therefore the PFS is suitable for strongly outgassing media.

Specifications:

+ Measurement principle: differential- pressure
+ Measurement range: 0 - 100 ml/min
+ Temperature range: 10 °C to 40 °C
+ Volume integrals from 50 nl
+ Sterilization: Gamma, Ethanol, Autoclave*
+ Suitable for: water, oil, fuels and other low viscous media**
+ Response time: 1 ms
+ Pressure range: -1 to 3 bars
+ Protection: IP 65
+ Bidirectional flow measurement
+ OEM-options available
+ Insusceptible to air bubbles

* Depending on the version, ** resistance tests on specific medias are recommended.

• Deutsch
  • English

Pulsed Flow Sensor

Der Pulsed Flow Sensor ist ein sehr dynamischer Durchflusssensor für Flüssigkeiten. Er wurde entwickelt um die pulsierende Strömung von Pumpen und schnell schaltenden Ventilen aufzuzeichnen. Dieser zuverlässige und chemisch resistente Sensor erlaubt es ihnen Volumenintegrale zu bilden und somit jede Dosierung exakt zu überwachen.

 

Kurze Ansprechzeiten

Der Pulsed Flow Sensor (PFS) ist ein kleiner Volumenstromsensor, der auf dem Differenzdruckprinzip beruht. Der Vorteil dieses Messprinzips ist eine sehr kurze Ansprechzeit im Bereich von 1 Millisekunde. Dies ermöglicht die Messung von schnellen Volumenstromänderungen wie sie zum Beispiel beim Schalten eines Ventils vorkommen. Auch pulse einer Peristaltik- oder Membranpumpe können hochauflösend abgebildet werden. Volumenintegrale ab 50 Nanolitern sind möglich.

 

Getrennte Elektronik

Der PFS erzeugt analoge Drucksignale, die vom PFS-Controller interpretiert werden. Der PFS-Controller bereitet die Signale auf und berechnet Volumenströme und Volumenintegrale mit einer Abtastrate von bis zu 20 kHz. Die Kommunikation geschieht über eine konfigurierbare serielle Schnittstelle. Zusätzlich steht ein Leistungsausgang mit PWM zur Ansteuerung von Ventilen und Pumpen oder als Triggerausgang zur Verfügung, was die Synchronisierung zwischen Aktor und Sensor vereinfacht.

 

Viskositätskompensation

Der PFS benutzt optional den Effekt von viskoser Reibung um die Viskosität der Flüssigkeit zu bestimmen (PFS-V2). Mit dieser Zusatzinformation kann ein viskositätsunabhängiger Volumenstrom gemessen werden.

 

Chemisch resistent

Der PFS wird aus hochfestem und chemisch beständigem PEEK (Polyetheretherketon) hergestellt. Die Medienberührenden Teile sind weiter: Fluorsilikon und FPM. Durch diese Werkstoffe ist der PFS beständig gegen eine Vielzahl von Chemikalien, Ölen und Lösungsmitteln.

 

Unanfällig auf Gasblasen

Der PFS ist unanfällig auf Gasblasen, die sich in der Flüssigkeit befinden. Der Einfluss von Gasblasen auf die Messung ist minimal. Dadurch ist der Sensor zur Messung von stark ausgasenden Medien geeignet.

 

Technische Daten:

+ Messprinzip: Differenzdruckmessung
+ Messbereich: 0 - 100 ml/min
+ Temperaturbereich: 10°C bis 40°C
+ Volumenintegrale ab 50 nl
+ Sterilisierung: Gamma, Ethanol, Autoklav*
+ Geeignet für Wasser, Öl, Treibstoffe und andere niederviskose Medien
+ Ansprechzeit: 1 ms
+ Druckbereich: -1 bis 3 bar
+ Schutzart: IP 65
+ Bidirektionale Durchflussmessung
+ OEM-Versionen erhältlich
+ Nicht anfällig auf Luftblasen

* Versionsabhängig, Kontaktieren sie uns für weitere Informationen, ** Beständigkeitstests für spezifische Medien werden empfohlen.

Versionen:

PFS-V3-B0

PFS-V3-B1

PFS-V3-B2

Flow rate 0-25 0-30 0-100 ml/min
Calibrated flow rate 1-25 3-30 10-100 ml/min
Operating pressure 0-4 0-4 0-4 bar (absolute)
Burst pressure 10 10 10 bar
Working temperature 10-40 10-40 10-40 °C
Flow detection response time 1-2 1-2 1-2 ms
Smallest orifice diameter 250 250 500  µm